I wanted to post the other day, but got waylaid when one of my favorite comedians, John Mulaney, announced he was doing a show at the Upright Citizens Brigade that day!

For dinner on Wednesday I made Dara’s recipe: Neil Sedaka’s Chicken. Dara suggested singing “Breaking Up is Hard to Do” while making the chicken, but my Clay Aiken fandom roots sprung up and I could not help humming “Solitaire” to myself.

The recipe Dara posted called for you to use 4 tbsp. of ketchup as part of the sauce that gets cooked onto the chicken. Not being the biggest fan of ketchup, I put in 3 tbsp. of ketchup and 1. of siracha and it really made it delicious. L. who complains about sweet foods said the chicken was delicious.

I also made Orangette’s Chickpea Salad with Lemon and Parmesean. I must admit, I basterdized that recipe. I didn’t realize I was missing olive oil and Parmesan until it was too late. So I subbed in some feta and added some extra lemon. Unfortunately the feta turned really pasty and made it more like a dressing than what Orangette pictured.

In another return to summer endevor, I made oven roasted corn which was delicious and amazing. It is by far my favorite way to make corn. It allows all the sugar in the corn to heat and release and the kernels just fall off the cob.

Oven-Roasted Corn

4 ears of corn
Cooking Spray or Olive Oil
Salt
Pepper
4 sheets aluminum foil

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Spray a foil sheet with cooking spray.
3. Place corn on foil.
4. Salt and pepper top of corn.
5. Roll corn back and forth on foil, spreading seasoning.
6. Wrap corn tightly in foil and place on top rack of oven.
7. Cook for 20-25 minutes.

