Years ago, I happened to catch an episode of Rachael Ray’s 30 Minute Meals where she was making french toast. That episode totally changed the way I thought about french toast. My parents had always approached french toast as a way to get rid of almost stale bread and extra eggs. But the way Rachael Ray put it together, adding in vanilla and spices – I totally realized french toast could be way more delicious. From there, I turned my getting rid of stale bread french toast into beautiful, sweet fluffy french toast.

However, since then I’ve lost my french toast recipe. I tried winging it last night but it didn’t quite work out the way I wanted. The french toast I made last night was really dry. I think part of the problem is I am now using a really dense wheat bread and it needs a lot more flavoring.

I did make a rocking fruit compote to go with it. It came out slightly sweet, but I can easily adjust it for next time.

French Toast notes
1. Use this recipe for French Toast base.
2. Soak bread for longer and let it absorb more egg mixture.
3. Cut the sugar in the fruit compote and use it as topping, not filling.

However, despite the French Toast Fail, I turned the leftovers into a delicious little Croque Monsieur type sandwich for lunch.

Sammy

