Last week we did an excellent job of sticking to our menu. Above and beyond, the most successful meal from last week was the tofu lettuce wraps. I also really enjoyed the pot stickers, even if they were a lot of work.

I also made Easy Greek Chicken, using some ideas that Dara from Chick in the Kitchen gave to me as she had tried the dish earlier in the week. Instead of making it in the crockpot, I made it in a large pan. I browned the chicken, then added in the tomatoes, orzo and olives, letting it all cook together. I think I over-cooked the orzo a little bit because the dish was still quite mushy. As Dara said, the overall flavor of the dish is tomato, so if I were to make it again, I would definitely add other vegetables. That said, L. enjoys the dish a lot and has been taking it for lunch this week.

My menus for this week draw a lot on my freezer stock. I’m trying to go a little easier on the prep work this week, doing less veggie chopping and so on. Last week there was a lot of it and it took forever to prep some meals.

mpm121

Monday: Meatless Monday! Newman’s Own Four Cheese Pizza and salad with farmer’s market beets, daikon radish, peppers and onion.

Tuesday: Olive and Lemon Chicken with Cous Cous (Repeatedly put off.) Fresh farmer’s market yellow squash.

Wednesday: Larb aka Thai-Style Ground Beef. This one sprung up with having frozen ground beef and an internet search led me to Chowhound, where they mentioned this recipe. Brown rice.

Thursday: Slow-Cooker Bean and Sausage Stew using turkey kielbasa.

Friday: Soupy Noodles with Silken Tofu and Spinach. The original recipe calls for bok choy, but all the bok choys at our supermarket were horrid looking so I am subbing in spinach.

Saturday: Fresh tomato bruschetta, meat and cheese plate.

Sunday: Chicken Curry with Brown Basmati Rice.

