Last night my friend Lori and I went out to Eisenhower Park on Long Island to see some former American Idols at a free concert hosted by Fresh 102.7. The performers included Brooke White (one of my faves) and Michael Johns from Season 7 and Elliot Yamin from Season 5. The venue itself is gorgeous – a big grassy hill, looking out over a lake. A great place to spend a sunny day on a blanket, wearing shades.

Considering we were going to be sitting in a park for a few hours, we packed a picnic. I made bruschetta, balsamic chicken sandwiches and cous cous with lemon escarole. It was delicious. I’ll post those recipes in a little bit, along with the recipe for this insanely yummy tofu noodle dish I made on Friday night.

Now, I have to say I’m sure a few of you rolled your eyes upon hearing that I went to an American Idol concert. It’s funny really, reality TV does get a bad wrap because of the way it attracts crazies. I have to say, though American Idol has had a few of its own crazies, I don’t think that that needs to discount what fantastic performers many of them really are.

One of the real highlights of last night was a performance that showcased the musicality of Michael Johns. He, along with a guitarist partner, covered Beyonce’s “Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It).” Covering it isn’t even really appropriate; interpreted is really a better word. Their reimagining of the song was put through a bluesy filter a la Otis Redding. It was not only a funny experience, but the song really took on a different aspect that made it even more enjoyable.

All in all, it was a wonderful night.

