I think you can tell a lot about a person by the state of their refrigerator. Or at least that’s definitely the case with me.

This past week, had you looked in my fridge, you would have seen it as empty as a ghost town. For me, that means I’ve only been in my house to basically do a little work and sleep. If there’s been food in the house, it’s been take out. I feel like my brain has been all over the place.

Once I get distance from the first few weeks of school, I always forget how busy and intense they are. It’s always half-exciting, half-ridiculously frustrating. I always end up feeling all over the place and painfully scatterbrained.

Today we went to the grocery store and did our weekly shopping. The simple act of writing a menu plan and setting up a grocery list has made my brain feel so much more together. I won’t be driving home, wondering how I’m going to get dinner in my mouth before I pass out.

For me, a full refrigerator is so much about a feeling of security. I’m not saying I spend my days afraid I will starve to death if I don’t have a full fridge. However, I’d generally rather not have to wonder about what’s in my fridge. When I don’t have to worry about what’s in my fridge, I feel like it’s a lot easier to take care of myself. It’s also a lot about knowing that if I really want, I can make myself something to eat, curl up in my PJ’s and do absolutely nothing all day.

Now my fridge is full of fresh fruit, some meat, lots of cheese and a block of tofu. I’m gearing up to get a jump on being ready for the week and by cooking Monday’s meal on Sunday.

Hooray for organization!

