My favorite thing about Sundays is that I can sit at the kitchen table and linger over a cup of coffee, doing absolutely nothing. The utter laziness of a Sunday is perfection in my mind.

Right now I’m watching a movie, sipping coffee out of my B.J. Novak mug and contemplating what to do next. Sunday mornings are by far the best part of Sundays.

Right now, I’m thinking a lot about what I’m going to make for Thanksgiving dinner. I’m in charge of vegetables this year. I used to be in charge of pies, but there were a few… accidents. I guess once you accidentally drop an entire pecan pie on its way out of the oven, you don’t get to make pie anymore.

I’m glad to be making the vegetables actually, since my mom makes vegetables the way most people who grew up in the 1950’s do: boil the hell out of those bad boys!

Thanksgiving Vegetables

  • Salad of some sort. I am thinking something like this Pear Roquefort salad over at All Recipes. I’m a little overly in love with pears and cheese right now, so I think this will be a nice combo. I may add beets into the mix because they’re one of my favorite foods.
  • Brussel Sprout Leaves with Cranberries and Hazelnuts. I’ve eaten this dish at Perilla numerous times and it’s beyond delicious. I’m wary about having to pull the leaves off of a pound of sprouts, but it’s going to be worth it, I’m sure.
  • Roasted Root Vegetables. I’m thinking I’ll roast a blend of potatoes, parsnips, carrots, onions, sweet potatoes and turnips with salt and rosemary.
  • Roasted Squash of some kind. Not sure what kind of squash I’ll make or how I’ll prepare it, so I’m totally open to suggestions.

I’m also thinking about doing something with corn, those maybe not as much. I loved the corn I made this summer, but I feel like it may not be as good now in the fall. I’m thinking something like creamed corn, but less scary than the stuff that comes out of a can. Any thoughts?

