Today I had sort of a strange afternoon. I had to miss work due to a neurologist appointment. L. was also off work, so we went into Manhattan together. The neurologist’s appointment was about what I expected it to be. However, afterwards we tracked down an Alice’s Tea Cup right near my neurologist’s office. That’s where the fun began.

We had an afternoon tea tray – The Mad Hatter. It came with three (GIANT!) scones, two sandwiches, a dessert and two pots of tea. L. had a buttermilk scone and I had a ham and cheese. For our third, we took a raspberry peach scone home to my mother. We shared the curry chicken salad and tea egg salad sandwiches. I much prefered the egg salad as the bread on the curry chicken salad was painfully dry. Dessert was neither here nor there, as we were really too full to care. We had some darjeeling oolong to start and then an apricot brandy tea which smelled amazing, but fell short in taste. Still, all in all it was a lovely afternoon.

Tonight I went to the store and made the final purchases for our Thanksgiving dinner.

Here’s the general menu run-down. If I’m not making them, I’ll put in parentheses who is responsible.

Starters
– Shrimp Cocktail (Mom)
Roasted Tomato Flatbread
Roquefort Pear Salad

Main
– Turkey (Mom)
– Green Bean Casserole (Mom)
– Sausage Stuffing (Mom)
Dara’s Corn Casserole (Thanks for the recipe!)
– Butternut Squash, roasted with rosemary, olive oil and sea salt.
Sweet Roasted Rosemary Acorn Squash Wedges.
Brussels Sprout Leaves with “Trail Mix”.
Root Vegetables, roasted with olive oil, rosemary and salt.

Dessert
– Pies of all sorts. (Mom)

Evening Main
– Ham
– Coleslaw
– German Potato Salad

I’m excited to actually cook something new and interesting! Even, if means that I’ll have to spend time many hours spent cutting, slicing and so-on. It should be a good time and I’ll be sure to take pictures.

